“Unmasking” Sabah’s Best Tourism Players


This year, we marked the eleventh year in acknowledging the State’s tourism industry players for their extraordinary contribution and professional achievement in putting Sabah as the leading player for tourism in region, as well as the country.

Hosted by the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Environment Sabah, YB Datuk Seri Panglima Masidi Manjun, the biennially Sabah Tourism Awards was held on 2 December, at the Grand Ballroom, Magellan Sutera Harbour, Kota Kinabalu. The ‘Masquerade’ themed event consists of 15 categories encompassing 30 awards; each one a symbol of distinction, innovation, and the enduring pursuit of excellence.

The Gala Dinner was entertained by exciting performances to celebrate local and international talents alike, namely  Beverly Matujal, Gena Sim, Elica, Linda Nanuwil, Esther Applunius, and internationally renowned electric violinist, Dennis Lau, hitting center stage.

The Sabah Tourism Award was introduced in 1997 as a form of recognition for the industry’s achievements and commitment to excellence. The Awards is also a testament to the magnitude and vibrancy of Sabah’s tourism industry and its continued growth augurs well for the State and country. This event is organised by the Sabah Tourism Board and its wholly-owned subsidiary Sri Pelancongan Sabah Sdn. Bhd., under the patronage of the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Environment Sabah.

Let’s continue to strive towards making Sabah a world class premier ecotourism destination!